Why Bother or Care?

Sometimes I get overwhelmed by the steady stream of news about the Church as most of it is just bad news.  It’s bad news because there is a constant effort to undermine the Faith and to distort it so that it means nothing more than the old tales of Greek mythology or the fables of Aesop that I read as a youth.  If bishops and cardinals and even the pope seem to me to demean the Faith and those who aim to practice it fully, then why should I point that out?  Why should I bother?  If this is what Jesus wants for His Church, then who am I to raise my voice and yell “stop!”?

Yet, at other times, I am not convinced that Jesus wants this for His Church.  Often I read and hear that these trials are a chastisement that we must bear.  That irks me, but perhaps that is the correct view.  After all, the Church is made up of sinners, including me, and we have all done some outrageous sins, and even though we have confessed them and been absolved, justice requires that we pay for those sins.  And we are told that God chastises those he loves.

Moreover, today most Catholics will approach and receive the Eucharist even though they have unabsolved mortal sins, or decades of even venial unconfessed sins.  For example, last night I went to Mass.  I sat in the last row.  It was supposed to be a retreat night but the weather was bad so the retreat portion was postponed.  I presume most who showed were there because of the retreat, part of which was going to be confession.  I was there first for the opportunity to go to confession.  In truth, I didn’t want to go, and when the weather was so nasty I really didn’t want to go even more.  But I went, against my own will.

So the Mass was celebrated and at Communion time, I and a woman in front of me were the only ones to not receive.  I watched.  I couldn’t help noticing.  I know, I shouldn’t be paying attention and normally don’t; I take it for granted that everyone goes every Sunday and I try not to let it bother me anymore.  I watched because part of my prayer at the start of the Mass was for forgiveness for the sacrilege committed by the unworthy reception of Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament.  On this night of reflection and introspection during Lent when we are focusing on our sinful nature and seeking forgiveness, I guess I expected that many more people would have been not receiving.

Catholics have lost on a grand scale the understanding of Who the Blessed Sacrament is and how they should approach and be worthy to receive such an awesome gift.  Perhaps that is partly why the Church is being chastised.  Even though I don’t receive when my sins become great, most do.  Our sins affect all of us, as we are one body.  We don’t have that understanding as something real anymore either.  The whole “who am I to judge” cop out really shows itself to be stupid from the point of view of the Church being the Body of Christ; if we know someone is committing a sin and then receiving the Eucharist, we are to discriminate and admonish them, for they harm not only themselves but all of us.  Hasn’t Saint Paul told us that about how to handle a fellow Christian who sins against us, to talk to them first, then with a few others, and then, if he or she doesn’t listen, that we are to take it to the whole Church?  What would he say about ignoring the sins, and telling people to receive the Eucharist while covered by years of sins, or even with one mortal sin?  We are to judge in that sense, but not in the sense that we are to condemn them to Hell.

The night before, I was reflecting on why I should care, and whether I should just lighten up and lose some of my zeal.  I turned away from anything Faith-related and turned on the television as an escape.  Soon it was time for bed but I flipped the channels.  I ended up on a showing of “The Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers” and watched, even though it was midway through.  Men are getting ready to face tens of thousands of Orcs in battle and are greatly outnumbered.  A small army of Men, mostly old men and youngsters, are supported by a dwarf and a few Hobbits and a few Elves.  As the battle approaches, an army of Elves arrives to support the Men, the Ents are convinced to join also and the Men are able to make a great defense.

Frodo and his friend Sam have also now journeyed a great distance and dealt with great ordeals, battered and worn, and pursued by the dark forces that want the Ring.  Frodo and Sam talk about how they are the ones who have been doing this, how unlikely that is, and how it is overwhelming.  They talk about the great stories of past heroes and how they also had undergone great challenges.

Sam: It’s like in the great stories Mr. Frodo, the ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were, and sometimes you didn’t want to know the end because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end it’s only a passing thing this shadow, even darkness must pass. A new day will come, and when the sun shines it’ll shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you, that meant something even if you were too small to understand why. But I think Mr. Frodo, I do understand, I know now folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going because they were holding on to something.

Frodo: What are we holding onto, Sam?

Sam: That there’s some good in the world, Mr. Frodo, and it’s worth fighting for.

In that scene, in that statement, and at that moment, it was as if my own questions were answered.  Indeed, there is good in the world, the Church and the Faith, and it is worth fighting for.  And so, even though I may be no more than a small Hobbit in a world assaulted by tens of thousands of Orcs fighting for the victory of the Dark Lord, even though I may be overwhelmed and battered and worn, I will continue to fight, for it is indeed the most worthy of things for which I might fight, the real Good in this world.

Sometimes it’s good to turn on the tv.

Posted in Faith, Life, Profaning the Eucharist or Trying To, The Point of The Blog
3 comments on “Why Bother or Care?
  1. Margaret Antonas says:

    Keep the Faith even though it feels like an uphill battle.

    Like

  2. E.M. Howard says:

    This post is so encouraging. Thank you so much. I know the feeling of wanting to give up even in my own limited struggle but I just will not accept that this is the right direction for Christ’s Church. It’s becoming a Church of Man and the worship of Man for sure. Temporal concerns seem to be the only ones ever talked about by the leadership now. And the gospel has become another political cause. Your thoughtful analysis in light of the true doctrines of the Church is really helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • steveesq says:

      Thank you for your comment and letting me know I was helpful. You’ve also helped me. That’s the best part of the blogs and the internet: we’re not isolated and we discover that there are others who share the same concerns and hopes for the Church, our Church, and we’re not going away and giving up. I was a silent spectator for too long and I have realized that was part of the problem. We can’t be if we value our Faith and truly believe in it and the Church. To me, it’s the most important and if I can’t stand up for that, I stand for nothing. Thanks again and I hope God blesses you abundantly!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow EX MAGNA SILENTIUM or EX MAGNO SILENTIO on WordPress.com
Pages
Big Picture News, Informed Analysis

Canadian journalist Donna Laframboise has been watching the climate world since 2009. What she sees isn't pretty.

Tedium: The Dull Side of the Internet.

Latin For OUT OF GREAT SILENCE: An Orthodox Traditional Modern Catholic Layman's Perspective

The Catholic Gentleman

A blog for Catholic men that seeks to encourage virtue, the pursuit of holiness and the art of true masculinity.

healthier2day.com

Taking small steps each day to become a little healthier

C.J.'s Roku World

Roku for beginner's

Frugal Fixes

Fixes that save money and sometimes even the environment.

Tech Halfpipe

Over 20 years working with technology and that I'm also a geek at home, as a personal distraction, I thought I would share some the tech solutions and challenges that I come across, and hopefully some solutions. Also will share some of the exciting things going on with STEM and the education of our youth

The Baseball Attic

An exploration of the National Pastime

The Baseball Bloggess

Loves the 4-6-3 and the Serial Comma.

Race Communications Blog

Follow our blog for a more in-depth look at our fiber projects across California.

POTs and PANs

Pretty Advanced New Stuff from CCG Consulting

Nickels, Dimes and Quarters

IT ALL ADDS UP TO FREEDOM

The Minimalists Next Door

Living simply, frugally, and intentionally

MarkStCyr.com

Entrepreneur, Speaker, Author

21stcenturytv

Moving To A 21st Century Entertainment Paradigm

Lefthanded Conservative

I'm left-handed, although my views are on the right

Credo Sanctum

Following the Apostolic Fatih

non veni pacem

The Splendor of Truth

newsitedenz.wordpress.com/

Surprising contributions by Francis to the Magisterium...

Maureen Mullarkey: Studio Matters

Latin For OUT OF GREAT SILENCE: An Orthodox Traditional Modern Catholic Layman's Perspective

Real Science

"Science is the belief in the ignorance of the experts" - Richard Feynman

Our Game

Official Blog of MLB Historian John Thorn

The Hardball Times

Latin For OUT OF GREAT SILENCE: An Orthodox Traditional Modern Catholic Layman's Perspective

FanGraphs Baseball

Latin For OUT OF GREAT SILENCE: An Orthodox Traditional Modern Catholic Layman's Perspective

One Mad Mom

Crazy? Angry? You decide and I really don't care!

Barnhardt

Latin For OUT OF GREAT SILENCE: An Orthodox Traditional Modern Catholic Layman's Perspective

Athanasius Contra Mundum

A website for Catholic Theology, Tradition, and Opposition to an insane world.

Quartermaster of the Barque

Dispensing Orthodox Catholic Joy!

LI & NY Places that are no more

A fun look back at history by Todd Berkun

Mahound's Paradise

Latin For OUT OF GREAT SILENCE: An Orthodox Traditional Modern Catholic Layman's Perspective

Catholicism.org

An online journal edited by the Slaves of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, Richmond N.H.

Pauliebronx's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Catholic Husband

24 Years Happily Married and Counting...

The Counter Jihad Report

News ~ Resources ~ Activism

The Stumbling Block

There's nothing good or Catholic about liberalism

Seeking Justice

Latin For OUT OF GREAT SILENCE: An Orthodox Traditional Modern Catholic Layman's Perspective

My Path to Faith

"We ought to make some progress, however little, every day, and show some increase of fervor. We ought to act as if we were at war as, indeed, we are and never relax until we have won the victory." St. Teresa of Ávila

Ponder Anew

Thinking about matters in life and faith and how reason puts it all together....

Notes From The Battleground

Working Out Our Salvation With Fear and Trembling

zeitgeist777

conspiracy Wiki

Watts Up With That?

The world's most viewed site on global warming and climate change

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Next Right Step

Abraham's Journey

